Seoul Food Meets Soul Food

I just moved to Atlanta from New York a couple weeks ago.  Call it fate, love, God, or the alignment of the stars but I’m here…and I’m still trying to figure out where to eat.

Luckily I found my favorite barbecue place today. Forget Fat Matt’s. Just the fact that I’m updating this blog should tell you that the restaurant I’m about to write about is good; like I-can-stay-here-in-Atlanta-just-for-this-restaurant good.

It’s called Heirloom Market and it looks like it’s a hole-in-the-wall in the most random place with nothing else around. But it was already hoppin’ and busy by the time we got there at 12:10, ten minutes after it opened.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect, being that one of the chefs is a former Korean pop star, Lee Jiyeon. (Sadly that is the reason why I went.)  But the fact that it was already that busy on an early afternoon was a good sign.

I opted for the two meat combo deal that comes with a side.  I chose the brisket and ribs and the fried okra.  It was $13.50 but it ended up being two meals since finishing it in one sitting would’ve made me feel dirty.

Brisket, ribs and fried okra. amen.

The brisket and ribs were so moist, juicy, and tender. In my opinion, it’s probably best eaten by itself without any sauce. But if you find the ends kind of dry, there are a few sauces to choose from.  I thought I would like the Korean barbecue sauce the best being that I have a Korean palate but the table sauce was tastier; it’s like A-1 but even better.  I didn’t like the Settler sauce as much but if you like vinegar with your meat, then that would be your sauce.

And seriously, the fried okra was off the hook; don’t ask me why.  Just get it.

For you yankees, that is what fried okra looks like.

In the middle of my meal, the line was already out the door and people were parking on the grass because there were no spots  left.  It’s a small place so it’s probably best to do take-out.

I realize there is nothing really Korean about the barbecue, unless you chose to smother your meat in the Korean sauce and unless you chose some Korean sides.  It really is just Texas-style BBQ; in my opinion anyway.

Looking at the Yelp reviews, you’ll see everyone, save for two ignorant people, gave it four or five stars.  I will definitely be back to try the chicken.

The good: I can only vouch for the brisket, ribs and fried okra for now.

The Bad: the limited parking spots and seating

The ugly: Animal fat solidifying in my arteries and adding to my cellulite

- xteethx

4 responses to “Seoul Food Meets Soul Food

  1. i’m a huge fan of the fried rib at Fox Bros’ BBQ. that thing is just wrong but so right.

  2. will have to try Fox bros! my friend suggested that as well :)

  3. man… they need to open up a place like this in Korea

  4. Pingback: Shy Bana « Seoul Food

Leave a Reply

